Stage 2 Pre-Op w/ Dr Chen

On October 6th, I had my pre-op appointment with Dr Chen. I thought I would do a rundown on some of the questions that we discussed at my appointment. It’s been a little over two weeks since I met with him about these topics and I didn’t write down too much in the way of notes afterwards, so I’m just doing my best to recall what I can and going off of the list of questions that I had prepared before meeting with him. Here they are:

Me: “Is the semi-rigid rod MRI safe?”

Dr Chen: “Yes, it won’t cause any problems.”

Me: “Will I set off metal detectors?”

Dr Chen: “No”

Me: “Are you familiar with the “no-touch technique”?

(SIDE NOTE: If you’re curious about what this technique is you can check out this link “No-Touch Technique“, in short it’s a draping method used to prevent direct contact with skin (which harbors bacteria) thus reducing the risk of infection during implant surgery).”

Dr Chen: “Yes. What we do is similar and in some ways and actually takes more extensive steps for cleansing the body. The body is cleansed multiple times, even inside the urethra since it’s skin, the body is draped multiple times, we changes gloves and gowns at different points during the surgery. Once we make the incision and create the area for the erectile device a solution is poured into the space and allowed to sit in order to cleanse the area while we change gloves and gowns and prepare the erectile device to be inserted.

(SIDE  NOTE: I wish I had taken notes on exactly what he said in regards to this explanation because it was the most detailed explanation of anything that he’s given me to date. He literally told me step-by-step exactly what they do from the time I was put to sleep up until the last suture is placed and they are finished with surgery. It was at least a 4-minute detailed explanation and really made me feel confident that extensive efforts are taken to prevent the risk of infection – which is a much higher risk with this surgery than any of the others).”

Me: “Do you prescribe antibiotics prophylactically for implant surgeries?”

Dr Chen: “Yes, we prescribe Bactrim which is started 3 days before surgery (technically 2 days, but you take your 3rd day’s dose the morning of surgery). It’s a 10-day course taken twice daily.”

Me: “Do you have any photos or a piece of the Gortex sheath laying around in the office that you use to wrap the semi-rigid in?”

Dr Chen: “Yes, I have some in the other room, one second:”

SIDE NOTE: Unfortunately, I accidentally deleted this photo from my phone, sorry guys. So I’ll have to describe it to you. As soon as I saw this material it reminded me of a Chinese finger trap for some reason, probably because of its tubular nature with an opening at both ends. It was dry and a bit stiff. But inside the body it would be moist and more flexible. It had the texture of a thick woven mesh and was an off-white color as I remember. The semi rigid rod is placed inside the sheath then the ends of the  Gortex material are folded tightly over both ends of the rod and then sutured down securely. It’s my understanding that the sheath is what makes it possible to suture this whole device to the pubic bone, otherwise they would need to puncture the actual device and thread the metal sutures through it which I imagine would eventually cause weakness and breakdown within the device. You have to remember that these rods were designed to be inserted and encapsulated with the corporal cavernosa structures which natal penises have two of. Since neo phalluses don’t have those erectile bodies, suturing this device to the pubic bone is the current work-around for this incompatibility.”

Me: “I’ve heard many guys report that in order to reduce the risk of erosion that very conservative measures are taken, whereas the tip of the erectile device is placed about an inch back from the tip of the penis. I understand that this drastically reduces the risk of erosion but that in addition it causes the head of the penis to kind of droop over the end of the erectile device. This drooping reduces the amount of usable length for penetration (even if only by a little) as well as making it a bit more difficult during insertion since the head of the penis is so squishy. How far back will you be placing the rod?”

Dr Chen: “We should be able to get it quite close to the very tip of the phallus, usually within about 1 cm. Safety is always the top priority though. ”

 *          *          *          *          *

Those were the main questions that seemed relevant to share with you guys. Next post will be an update from the actual surgery itself.

Leave a Reply

